Thursday, August 13, 2020

Bible Study Review - 7 Feasts by Erin Davis


In her first title in Moody Publishers Bible study line for women, Davis, a speaker, author, and blogger, leads women through an 8-week study on the Seven Feasts outlined in Leviticus 23, from the Passover and the Feast of Firstfruits to the Day of Atonement and the Feast of Booths.
“Leviticus isn’t just a book of rules arbitrarily handed down by a detached authority” says Davis. “They are opportunities to learn how to live, given to us by our patient Teacher. This paradigm shift matters, because it speaks to the heart of God.”


A popular speaker, author, and blogger, Erin Davis has addressed women of all ages nationwide and is passionately committed to sharing God's Truth with others. She is the author of many books, including Connected, Beyond Bath Time, and books in the My Name Is Erin series. She also contributes regularly to the True Woman blog. When she’s not writing, you can find Erin chasing down chickens and children on her small farm in the Midwest.


As someone who loves studying the Old Testament, I was very excited about this study. It focuses on the 7 feasts and the book of Leviticus. It has been a wonderful study and there's so much to say about it.

First of all, I love how the author takes us slowly through thie study and Scripture so we get all the nuances and the understanding of everything we are reading. I love studies that don't rush me through everything with the idea of saying I finished a study. I want to know everything about what I'm reading and studying so that I can truly understand and apply it to my life.

The 7 feasts that Erin teaches about are:

Passover: Reminds us of our deliverance from death.
Feast of Unleavened Bread: Reminds us that we still face the dangerous and permeating death of sin.
Feast of First fruits: Celebrates that God gives us His very best: Himself. In return, as an act of worship, we give Him our very best.
Feast of Weeks: Reminds us that God never wastes the wait.
Feast of Trumpets: Jesus will fulfill the Feast of Trumpets with His triumphant return.
Day of Atonement: This day showcase’s God’s elaborate grace.
Feast of Booths: Shines the spotlight on God and reminds His children of His character.

Each of these feasts gives us a better understanding of God and Jesus. There is so much important information and Erin helps us to digest each section slowly by asking us to write out certain Scriptures (which always helps me), and answering vital questions about what we've learned. She doesn't leave us wondering but explains everything beautifully and in ways that are very understandable.

I absolutely love this study and I think you will, too.  It's such a great study that will open your eyes to the 7 feasts, the Old Testament and Jesus. It's in-depth and totally Biblical, which is so important.  I highly recommend this study an give it 5 stars.

*This Bible study was provided to me by Side Door Communications and Moody Publishers. I received a copy of this book to review but I was not financially compensated in any way. The opinions expressed are my own and are based on my observations while reading this book.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. When you click on my Amazon link, I will earn a small fee on this item or anything else you purchase while clicked in on this link. I appreciate your support for my blog, More Of Him.

Blessings - Julie

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please leave me a message! I love hearing what you have to say and look forward to your comments.